News Story

Seven NanoCenter Members Named 2013 Future Faculty Fellows

Seven NanoCenter Members Named 2013 Future Faculty Fellows

Seven members of the Maryland NanoCenter have been named to a prestigious program to prepare graduate students for a career in research and teaching in top engineering schools.

The graduate students will receive a $3,000 travel grant, work closely with a senior faculty member, and attend private seminars to help them prepare for life and success in academia.

The Fellows include:

  • Omar Ayyub, Bioengineering
  • Andrew Berkovich, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Meng Hu, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Tsung-Hsueh Lee, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Hanna Nilsson, Materials Science & Engineering
  • Ryan Q. Rudy, Mechanical Engineering
  • Zhijian Zhang, Mechanical Engineering

"These members of the NanoCenter are among the Clark School's most promising future faculty. I expect to see them achieve career-long success in teaching and research," said Gary Rubloff (MSE-ISR), the NanoCenter's director.

The program is open to graduate students in the James A. Clark School of Engineering. All graduate students may participate in the initial component of the program, which presents faculty role models who discuss why they chose a career in academia, how they secured tenure-track positions, and how they have achieved success. A competitive selection process narrows the list to just 20 students, with at least one representative from each of the Clark School's departments.

To learn more about the program, how to apply, and its curriculum, visit the Future Faculty Program Page on the Clark School's web site.






January 15, 2013

Prev   Next