MSE Announces 2015 Thesis and Dissertation Awards

The University of Maryland’s Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE) is pleased to announce the winners its 2015 Graduate Research Awards, Feng Gu and Alexander Kozen. They will go on to represent MSE in the Dean's M.S. and Doctoral Student Research Award competitions, where they will be up against the winners from the Clark School's seven other departments. Dean Darryll Pines will host the event on Sunday, May 2.

Kozen, advised by Professor Gary Rubloff, won the MSE Ph.D. Graduate Research Award for his dissertation, "Next Generation Metal Anode Surface Engineering via Atomic Layer Deposition.”

Gu, advised by Assistant Professor Liangbing Hu, received the MSE M.S. Research Award for his thesis, “Sodium-ion intercalated transparent conductors with printed reduced graphene oxide network.”   

“Anyone reviewing the thesis work from our Ph.D. and M.S. nominees would confirm that our department has the most exciting and dynamic research projects in the A. James Clark School of Engineering and on campus,” says Professor and Chair Robert M. Briber.

MSE students have left their mark on the Dean's Doctoral Student Research Award Competition since its inception. Shenqiang Ren won the inaugural award in 2009, Konstantinos Gerasopoulos won in 2011, Jane Cornett won in 2013, and Amy Marquardt won in 2014. Parag Banerjee placed third in the competition in 2010.

Nitinun Varongchayakul won the Dean’s Master’s Student Research Award in 2013. Adam Karcz took 2nd place in the competition in 2010.

Published April 24, 2015