Video: Materials Science Students at Presidential Inauguration!

news story image

MSE students in the staging area for the 57th Presidential Inaugural Parade in January 2013. Left to right: Ben Stackhouse (trumpet), Louis Levine (trumpet), Zara Simpson (cymbals), Raj Bajwa (snare drum), and Drew Stasak (Saxophone).

Five Clark School Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE) majors had something even better than front row seats at the 2013 inauguration of President Barak Obama—the opportunity to perform for the First Family on national television! Raj Bajwa (snare drum), Louis Levine (trumpet), Zara Simpson (cymbals), Ben Stackhouse (trumpet), and Drew Stasak (saxophone) were among the 255 members of the Mighty Sound of Maryland, the university’s award-winning marching band, who took part in the 57th Presidential Inaugural Parade.

The Mighty Sound of Maryland, which was selected for the event from thousands of applicants, played the "Washington Post March" and the "Maryland Victory Song," accompanied by the Terps’ cheerleaders and color guard. The occasion marked the fifth time in the band’s history that it performed at a presidential inauguration. In 1985, it was scheduled to perform at President Ronald Reagan’s second inauguration (which was canceled due to inclement weather); in 1960, it played for President John F. Kennedy; in 1953, it played for President Dwight Eisenhower; and in 1917, it played at President Woodrow Wilson's second inauguration.

Watch the band perform (video courtesy of CBS affiliate WUSA9):

Published January 28, 2013