Materials Characterization

MSE faculty who study materials characterization are concerned with the way the structure of materials are examined.

Various levels of structural analysis include:

  • Atomic structure
  • Nanostructure
  • Microstructure
  • Macro structure


Specific examples include:

  • Surface, Interface, and Thin Film Analysis
  • Scanning Probe Micrsoscopy and Novelprobe Techniques
  • Transmission Electron Microscopy
  • Dynamic Properties Characterization at the Nanoscale
  • Spectroscopy of Nanomaterials

 

Subcategories include: Surface, Interface, and Thin Film Analysis, Scanning Probe Microscopy and Novelprobe Techniques, Transmission Electron Microscopy, Dynamic Properties Characterization at the Nanoscale, Spectroscopy of Nanomaterial


Faculty

Cumings, John John Cumings

Associate Professor
Keystone Professor
Undergraduate Advisor
Interim Director, Maryland NanoCenter

301-405-0789 | cumings@umd.edu
Research Areas: Transmission Electron Microscopy, Dynamic Properties Characterization at the Nanoscale
Profile

Mo, Yifei Yifei Mo

Assistant Professor
301-405-7613 | yfmo@umd.edu
Research Areas: Surface, Interface, and Thin Film Analysis
Profile

Oehrlein, Gottlieb S. Gottlieb S. Oehrlein

Professor
301-405-8931 | oehrlein@umd.edu
Research Areas: Surface, Interface, and Thin Film Analysis
Profile

Phaneuf, Ray Ray Phaneuf

Professor and Acting Chair
Member, Laboratory for Physical Sciences

301-405-6566 | phaneuf@lps.umd.edu
Research Areas: Surface, Interface, and Thin Film Analysis, Scanning Probe Microscopy and Novelprobe Techniques
Profile

Rubloff, Gary Gary Rubloff

Minta Martin Professor of Engineering
Director, Maryland NanoCenter
Director, Nanostructures for Electrical Energy Storage, a DOE EFRC
Fellow, APS and AVS

301-405-3011 | rubloff@umd.edu
Research Areas: Surface, Interface, and Thin Film Analysis, 
Profile

Salamanca-Riba, Lourdes Lourdes Salamanca-Riba

Professor
301-405-5220 | riba@umd.edu
Research Areas: Surface, Interface, and Thin Film Analysis, Transmission Electron Microscopy, Spectroscopy of Nanomaterials
Profile

Takeuchi, Ichiro Ichiro Takeuchi

Professor
Graduate Program Director

301-405-6809 | takeuchi@umd.edu
Research Areas: Scanning Probe Microscopy and Novelprobe Techniques
Profile

 


Top