2011-2012 MSE Undergraduate Awards

news story image

Left: Department award winners (left to right) Doug Trigg, Steven Ramiro, Natan Aronhime, and Eric Epstein. Right: Dean Pines presents the Dinah Berman Memorial Award to Nicholas Weadock. Photos by Al Santos.

Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE) undergraduates were among the award recipients at the 2011-2012 A. James Clark School of Engineering's Honors and Awards Ceremony, held April 19. The event honors students from all departments who have demonstrated outstanding academic performance, research, and contributions to their departments or fields. Clark School dean Darryll Pines and MSE professor and chair Robert M. Briber presented the awards.

This year, the awards and their recipients were:

Department Awards

The Department of Materials Science and Engineering Chairman’s Outstanding Senior Award
Presented to a graduating senior for scholarship, leadership and service to the department.

Awarded to Natan Aronhime.

Natan Aronhime has worked in research labs on campus and at Johns Hopkins University. He was a contributing author of a paper published in the International Journal of Hydrogen Energy as well as a paper that has been submitted to Fuel. He is the president of the Materials Science and Engineering student group and one of the department’s team leaders for the 2012 Alumni Cup competition. He is a member of the Quality Enhancement Systems and Teams (QUEST) Honors Program and a Clark School Ambassador. Aronhime was elected to Alpha Sigma Mu, the professional materials science and engineering honor society, in 2011.

The Department of Materials Science and Engineering Outstanding Materials Student Service Award
Presented to graduating seniors for outstanding service to the department and to the student chapter of the Materials Engineering Society.

Awarded to Steven Ramiro and Douglas Trigg.

Steven Ramiro, who will also graduate with a minor in Spanish languages and cultures, has been actively involved in both Clark School and department outreach activities. He has always been willing to help at department open houses, has served as an orientation advisor for the Clark School, and was selected as a Clark School Ambassador in fall 2010. Steven is a member of Gemstone and has been active in research activities on campus.

Douglas Trigg has been an active participant in Clark School and department outreach activities. He has served as a Clark School Ambassador since 2011 and as treasurer of the materials science and engineering student society. He has been involved in research activities on campus and is a member of the Honors Humanities program.

The Department of Materials Science and Engineering Student Research Award
Presented to an undergraduate who has demonstrated creativity and scholarship in research.

Awarded to Eric Epstein.

Eric Epstein is a senior who works in Professor John Cumingss' lab in the area of lithium-assisted welding in silicon nanowires. His work with the Cumings group has led to two publications in Nano Letters and he is listed as the second author on one of the articles. Eric has participated in an NSF Materials Research Science and Engineering Center project as well as a project at the Naval Research Laboratory. He is also active with Engineers Without Borders and the Maryland Sustainability Project. He was elected to Alpha Sigma Mu, the professional materials science and engineering honor society, in 2011. Epstein is also the recipient of a National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship.

A. James Clark School of Engineering Awards

The Dinah Berman Memorial Award
Presented to an engineering student who has combined academic excellence with demonstrated leadership or service to the Clark School as a freshman and sophomore.

Awarded to Nicholas Weadock.

Nicholas Weadock, a junior, is interested in renewable energy. He was a team leader for WaterShed, Maryland’s winning entry in the 2011 Solar Decathlon–an international competition to build and operate an 800-square foot home powered solely by the sun. He designed the HVAC system, ran the house during the competition period and was involved with public outreach. A member of the Honors program, Weadock participates in undergraduate research at the University of Maryland Energy Research Center. He plans to attend graduate school and ultimately pursue a career in energy research.

Industry Awards

L-3 Undergraduate Scholarship
This merit-based scholarship supports students majoring in materials, electrical and computer, mechanical, and aerospace engineering, and are designed to encourage the recruitment of Clark School graduates into L-3 Communications' ranks.

Awarded to Alex Sposito.

Alex Sposito, a senior, works as a research assistant in the Clark School's MEMS and Microfluidics Lab. There, he and his colleagues are using microfluidic technology to synthesize novel macroporous polymer microbeads, which they hope to functionalize for use in biosensing and explosive detection systems. He is a co-author of a paper on the work. Sposito spent the Fall 2011 semester working as an Intern Analyst for Lux Research, a firm that provides strategic advice to companies utilizing emerging technologies, while studying abroad at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore. He also minors in technology entrepreneurship, and is a member of the Hinman CEOs program.

Congratulations to all of these exceptional students!

Published April 20, 2012